Longtime official and coach receives sanction

• User
    PRO
    1throwsman
    Sad!!! Fact is the correct call was made, but the argument was that Coach Kilbreath's back was turned and he could not see who threw it. Now, let's think a minute . My back is turned and I cannot see the runner that just finished. I do see a baton coming flying by. I turn around and only see one person there and that person should have a baton in his hand. It is fairly obvious who the guilty party is.
    I have been coaching for 40 years. I have also officicated, and I have made mistakes in both. I have also been on the receiving end of improper decisions by officials. I coached in one playoff football game and lost in which the opponent scored 2 touchdowns with no time on the clock. Yes, that is correct. In both instances, the officials made the wrong call. The decision was not overturned and to my knowledge, no official was sanctioned in any manner.
    Sad to say, but when officials are part of an official's association and wear a special uniform, they are treated differently than those in the sport of Track & Field. This situation would not have occurred in any other sport. And if some of what I hear about the situation is indeed true, then there needs to be thorough examination about the purpose of high school athletics.
    Coach Kilbreath is ultimately the real winner here. He has been subjected to more than anyone should be in this type of situation, but he has handled with the same dignity, integrity and honor that he showed throughout his career. In this he continues to the coach and educator he has always been by handling a negative situation with honor and class and setting the example that all should seek to emulate. We all have lost a little by the Coaches Kilbreath not involved in our sport anymore. Both Coaches Kilbreath will always have my utmost respect and gratitude for all they have given to the sports of Track and Cross Country.
  • User
    PRO
    Urban