Shrine Bowl Run in Memory of Stoudenmire

Twenty-one male senior runners and five female senior runners have been chosen to participate in the Dec. 16 21st Annual Shrine Bowl Run. The athletes listed below were chosen based on their performances at the state meet Nov. 4.

The hand off ceremony starts at the Shriner\'s Hospital in Greenville and the runners will hand the official game ball to game officials on the field at Gibbs Stadium in Spartanburg, home of the Wofford Terriers.

Shrine Bowl Runners list
Ryan Arrowsmith (Dorman)
Sam Barlow (Hillcrest)
Dusty Bateman (Wade Hampton)
Paul Bowers (Summerville)
Jonathan Chu (Dreher)
Jonathan Falco (Ridge View)
Adam Freudenthal (Spartanburg)
Chad Holt (Mauldin)
David Huckaby (Fort Mill)
Tyler Hudgins (Northwestern)
Josh Mabry (Fort Mill)
Greg Marcil (Dreher)
Darin Mattison (Hanna)
Stuart McDaniel (Northwestern)
Jonathan McGinnnis (Northwestern)
Marshall Meyers (Bluffton)
Ben Miller (Chesnee)
Travis Owens (Fort Mill)
Stephen Usery (Easley)
Josh Walker (Lexington)
David Willis (Fort Mill)
Stephanie Buffo (Dorman)
Jenna Callahan (Fort Mill)
Laura Eleazer (Dorman)
Stephanie Gammon (Daniel)
Kaela McPhail (Spartanburg)

Spring Valley\'s Kevin Shaw is directing the 2006 run.

The Shrine Bowl Run in South Carolina was started in 1986 by Everett Stoudenmire, with the help of the South Carolina Track and Cross-Country Coaches Association. The Shriner\'s hospital for Children has received more than 51 million dollars from Shrine Bowl Games across the United States. Four hundred and seventy-five thousand children have been rehabilated at the Shriner\'s Hospitals. The first Carolina Shrine Bowl game was played in Charlotte in 1937.

The Shrine Bowl runners are escorted by the South Carolina Highway Patrol and are managed by the Shriners of the Jamil Temple. The 2006 and future Shrine Run Bowls are in memory of Stoudenmire, whom passed away Jan. 30, 2006.

Shrine Bowl Web site.