Shrine Bowl Run team announced

COLUMBIA — The 2014 Shrine Bowl Run team was announced following races at the South Carolina High School League Championships. 

The run, that starts at the Shriners Hospital in Greenville and finishes at Gibbs Stadium in Spartanburg, is slated for Dec. 20. The Shriners use the run to raise funds for the hospital. 

Runners are chosen based on times from the state meet. The exception is a senior is chosen if he or she wins an individual state title. Senior runners had to apply to be eligible. 

Jeremy Darby (Landrum) is serving as head coach. 

Marcus Miles (James Island), Jacob Slann (Daniel), Carlos Oliver (Belton-Honea Path), Josiah Thorsland (Seneca), Dorian Jones (Airport), Benjamin Bigelow (Wilson), Myers McKinney (Spartanburg), Logan Veatch (Wando), Jeremy Ricks (Fort Mill), Kyle Mook (Riverside), Ereck Lewis (Westwood), Matias Montiel (Wando), Kole Koterba (Northwestern), Dane Szalwinski (Lexington), Alex Spencer (Wade Hampton), Griff Tolly (Hanna), James Palmer (Blythewood), T.J. Kirby (Blythewood), Mason Baird (Wade Hampton), Hunter Foster (Wade Hampton), Billy Gist (Mann), Micah Williams (Greer Middle College), Abraham Balawi (Liberty), Caleb Bouwkamp (Landrum), and Will Manning (Nation Ford). 

Sydney Ellen (Heathwood Hall), Nora Duesterhaus (Spartanburg Day), Heather Elliott (Eastside), Abbie Adams (Wren), Courtney Shearer (Emerald), Anna Johnson (Dutch Fork), Emma Jennings (Byrnes), Abby Bozarth (Summerville), Rosa Marie Compton (Wando), Bethany Reeves (Stratford), Rebeka Fadgyas (Wade Hampton), Shamia Thompson (Irmo), Brianna Lewis (Northwestern), France Wavro (Christ Church), and Maddie Buddenberg (Southside Christian). will be onsite Dec. 20. 

2013 coverage