Wando's Bret Davis Named 2022 USTFCCCA SC COY

 "It is really a testament though to how great the boys I had this year are." - Bret Davis, Wando cross country coach

The USTFCCCA announced Wando cross country coach Bret Davis the South Carolina cross country coach of the year. Read what he says about the honor.

Davis received the honor in 2016

"It is a huge honor to be recognized as the USTFCCCA SC Coach of the Year for Cross Country," said Davis. "There are such a large number of great coaches here in South Carolina, and so many programs that did amazing things this year, that to receive this honor really means a lot.  It is really a testament though to how great the boys I had this year are.  This is really an award that shows how great Jake Liebert, Brendan Gomez, Tanner Jelliff, John Teachman, Brennan Harp, Jack Butler, Zach Teachman, Gansen York and  all the other runners we have that pushed them everyday are capable of being.  These guys really make it look like I know what I am talking about, but really it is all about them and their drive and work ethic.  I also wouldn't receive this honor without the assistance of coach Bradley Ross and coach Jennifer Emerson that help in all aspects of building this program.  I also get amazing support from our administration which allows me to showcase how talented these guys are capable of running.  Overall, it is an award that I accept but it is really a reflection of the entire program we have here at Wando."

Junior Jake Liebert won the AAAAA SCHSL 2022 state title in 15:13 as the team won the state title with 41 points.

This is ninth year announcing winners of the 2022 High School Cross Country Coaches of the Year honors.

The USTFCCCA named a total of 102 coaches -- one girls and one boys coach in each state and the District of Columbia -- to its list of awardees, selected by an expert committee.

Factors the committee took into consideration when selecting the year's top coaches included team performance over the course of the fall 2022 season, state championship performances, margin of victory, individual championships, performance in relation to rankings and team history.

Each winning coach will be in the running for the 2022 USTFCCCA National High School Cross Country Coach of the Year Award awarded next month, an honor given to one girls and one boys coach.

Read more on MileSplit here.