Shrine Bowl Run interview: Dan Bell of Lexington


Name: Dan Bell
Hobbies: Running, playing guitar, enoing, participating in show choir and chamber choir, spending time with friends, hiking, and serving in the community.
Academic interest: Calculus 
Personal bests: 800 - 2:02, 1600- 4:37, 5K - 16:28

What does it mean to be named to the Shrine Bowl Run team and helping the hospital? 

It is an extraordinary opportunity and I am honored to have been chosen. I love the work that the hospital does and am very happy to help all that I can.

What did you hear about the Shrine Bowl Run before this year? 
I have heard that it is a great experience from previous teammates who have participated and also from my coaches.

What do you hope to experience during the event?
I hope to be able to bring a positive energy to the event and to meet new athletes from around the state that I have common interests with.

How are you preparing to run with a football?
I have a bit of experience running with a ball from pickup games that the cross country team has during the offseason.

How would you rate your senior season? 
I would rate my senior season a 10 out of 10. I gave my all in every workout and ended up with a team victory at region as well as an individual one. The team also competed well at state placing third.

What future goals do you have? 
I will be completing a two year mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints once I graduate. Following my mission I will attend either Brigham Young University or Southern Virginia University to pursue an education majoring in pre-med.

Have you made the decision to compete at the next level? Please explain. 
I have not made a definite decision yet. I don't know how not being able to run for two years will affect me so I will make the decision when I get back.

How did you get involved with the sport and when? 
I began running in seventh grade with encouragement from my mom, Suzanne. I fell in love with the sport and have been running ever since.

How have you seen the sport change in the state? Please explain. 
I moved from Pennsylvania right before my tenth grade track season so I don't have much of a background in South Carolina cross country but it is very different from Pennsylvania.

What was your motivation for your final XC season? 
My motivation was found in knowing that Lexington has a strong past in cross country and I wanted contribute to that legacy all that I could. I was also motivated by my goal to break 16:30 this season.

If there is one thing in the world you could do, what would it be and why? 

If I could do anything in the world I would become a doctor and then participate in medical mission trips to help those who can't help themselves in third world countries.


Comments