20th Shrine Bowl Runners Selected

15 male senior runners and seven female senior runners have been chosen to participate in the Dec. 17 20th Annual Shrine Bowl Run. The athletes listed below were chosen based on their performances at the state meet Nov. 5.

The hand off ceremony starts at the Shriner\'s Hospital in Greenville at 9 a.m.. At 12:50 p.m. the runners will hand the official game to game officials on the field at Gibbs Stadium in Spartanburg, home of the Wofford Terriers. Runners are expected to arrive at the Shriner\'s Hospital at 8 a.m.

Shrine Bowl Runners list
Chris Scanlon (Mann)
Cornelius Harvin (Ridge View)
J.C. Koziel (Northwestern)
Austin Walton (Greenville)
Andrew White (Fort Mill)
Matt Colby (Northwestern)
Andrew Mullikin (Spartanburg)
Timothy Faugl (South Aiken)
Shane Reighard (Daniel)
Daniel Smoak (Wade Hampton (G))
Will Spears (Greenville)
Todd Hines (Union)
Jeremy Vangsnes (Broome)
Marcus Moore (Sumter)
Graham Tribble (Ben Lippen, SCISA)
Kate Niehaus (Spring Valley)
Carey Phillips (Chesnee)
Sarah Binkley (Dreher)
Lauren Klas (Mauldin)
Amy Laughlin (South Aiken)
Thela Woodring (Hanna)
Kristen Thomas (Clover)

Dorman head cross country coach Jeff Buys is directing the 2005 Shrine Bowl Run team with assistance by Spring Valley\'s Kevin Shaw, who will become the 2006 Shrine Bowl Run head coach.

The Shrine Bowl Run in South Carolina was started in 1986 by Everett Stoudenmire, with the help of the South Carolina Track and Cross-Country Coaches Association. The Shriner\'s hospital for Children has received more than 51 million dollars from Shrine Bowl Games across the United States. Four hundred and seventy-five thousand children have been rehabilated at the Shriner\'s Hospitals. The first Carolina Shrine Bowl game was played in Charlotte in 1937.

The Shrine Bowl Runners are escorted by the South Carolina Highway Patrol and are managed by the Shriners of the Jamil Temple. Mr. Everette Stoudenmire of Columbia is entering his 20th year as manager of the event.