First Shrine Bowl Run Coach Receives Signed Football Prior to Start of Event staff would like to wish everyone a safe and happy holidays and a happy new year.

Jim Kilbreth, the first Shrine Bowl Run Coach in South Carolina was given a football, signed by all 2005 participating athletes, by Everette Stoudenmire, coordinator of the run, prior to the start of the 20th annual fundraising event.

The 2005 Shrine Run Bowl took place Dec. 17. The event started at the Shriner's Hospital in Greenville, where participating runners, parents, and coaches joined. The Shriners led the runners and others through a tour of the hospital prior to the start of the run.

Four-time state champion Kate Niehaus (Spring Valley) was the first to run with the football and SCISA state champion Graham Tribble (Ben Lippen) concluded the event run. Tribble ran the game ball on the field with the rest of the Shrine Bowl run participants following Tribble on to the field.

The Shrine Bowl Run is a relay that consists of select seniors who carry the football used for kick-off of the Shrine Bowl in Spartanburg.

"It certainly was very nice of Everette (Stoudenmire, Shrine Bowl Run coordinator) to give me the ball, and I will treasure it," said Kilbreth. "I have helped with every Shrine Bowl Run, except for 1991. That was the year Marc Davis qualified for what is now the Footlocker Finals in San Diego, where he finished sixth." Prior to the 1993 season Footlocker Nationals was named Kinney Cross Country Championships. In 1991 Eileen Kilbreth took his place at the Shrine Run and was named the Shrine Run coach in 1992. Kilbreth has not missed the event since 1991.

"Both of us feel it is very important to participate in the (Shrine) run because it is a good cause, and it is a way to give something back to cross country in South Carolina," said Kilbreth.

List of Shrine Bowl Run Coaches (1986-2006)
2006: Kevin Shaw, Spring Valley
2005: Jeff Buys, Dorman
2004: Bobby Urban, Dorman
2003: Mark Bedenbaugh, Pelion
2002: Rick Zeller, Wade Hampton
2001: Skip Frye, Broome; Mike Massey, Union
2000: Karen Gillespie, Riverside
1999: Dan Shonka, Liberty
1998: Al Dunn, Sumter
1997: Delmer Howell, Mauldin
1996: Chuck Parker, Hanna
1995: Ed Boehmke, Eastside
1994: Jack LeGrand, Chapin
1993: Ron Sullivan, Belton-Honea Path
1992: Eileen Kilbreth, Spartanburg
1991: Willie Wooden, Riverside
1990: Ted Whitaker, Hilton Head
1989: Bob Jenkins, Northwestern
1988: George Johnson, Brookland Cayce
1987: Mike Moore, Irmo
1986: Jim Kilbreth, Spartanburg
-List courtesy of sctrackworld.