Dorman's Wynn Johnson Receives State Honor

Dorman's Wynn Johnson was named state Gatorade Boys Runner of the Year for cross country today.

St. Joseph's Ava Dobson Receives State Honor

Johnson won the Class AAAAA individual state championship this past season with a time of 15:38, leading the Cavaliers to the state title as a team.

A member of the Beta Club, Johnson has volunteered locally with Camp Hope, assisting at-risk youth. "I've never coached a runner who has overcome more injuries than Wynn has during their high school career, and in each case, he's been able to come back stronger than before," said Dorman coach Jeff Buys. "Our program has placed many runners into the collegiate ranks, but Wynn has the ten fastest times ever run by any athlete from Dorman."   

Johnson has maintained a 3.89 GPA in the classroom. 

 joins Gatorade South Carolina Boys Cross Country Runners of the Year John Ward (2016-17, Wade Hampton High School), Jackson Ellenburg (2015-16, Ashley Ridge High School), Micah Williams (2014-15, Greer Middle College Charter High School), Brent Demarest (2013-14 & 2012-13, Porter-Gaud School), Roland Hakes (2011-12 & 2010-11, Dutch Fork High School), Aaron Ramirez (2009-10 & 2008-09, Woodmont High School), and Luke Lovelace (2007-08, Chapin High School) as athletes who have won the cross country award since its inception in 2007.